Upcoming Events
Fri  |  June 21  |  8:00 am
Compost Operator Training
Mon  |  July 1  |  12:00 am
SWAP Grants Due
Wed  |  August 7  |  10:00 am
August Board Meeting

A Letter from the President

Filed under "ISOSWO/SWANA"
More articles »

Monday, October 22, 2018

Another successful Iowa Recycling and Solid Waste Management Conference is in the books! Thank you to all of the sponsors, exhibitors, speakers, volunteers, attendees and of course, our hosts, the Council Bluffs Recycling Center and the City of Council Bluffs.

A special thank you to all who spent countless hours planning, preparing, organizing and putting on another stellar conference. We have received some positive feedback already and hope that you will take time to send your feedback as well.

I want to give an update for those that were unable to attend the Annual ISOSWO Meeting. The audit committee provided favorable details about the ISOSWO finances and will discuss the Scholarship Account and other suggestions for improvement in upcoming Board Meetings.

This year’s election was for 2 two-year terms and 1 one-year term. There were changes in officers: John Foster will become vice-president, and the Treasurer position will be filled at the November Board meeting. The election results were tallied and announced by the audit committee. Of the 180 current members, 59 turned in ballots and I am happy to announce the top three vote-getters: 

  • Wade Hamm – Great River Regional Waste - re-elected (Two-year term)
  • Yuta Naganuma – Metro Waste Authority – elected (Two-year term)
  • Lauren (Nelson) Norland – Barker Lemar – elected (One-year term)

 Congratulations to these individuals. We look forward to serving with you. Our first meeting will be held November 7, 2018 at the Scott Area Landfill, 11555 110th Avenue (County Road Y-48), Davenport, IA 52804. Details will be forthcoming.

I want to send a special thank you to past Board Members, Karmin McShane – Cedar Rapids/Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Michael Classen – HDR, and Jody Rhone – Newton Landfill for their time and dedication to the success of the board and all ISOSWO members.

Brian Seals has volunteered to be the Safety Ambassador after Laura Routh announced she will be stepping down.  Laura has done an amazing job starting up the program and being the safety “Champion” for ISOSWO.  Thank you, Laura!

Preparations are already underway for next year’s conference! We hope you will join us next year in Dubuque!

Bill Rowland
ISOSWO President