Upcoming Events
Fri  |  September 5  |  10:00 am
ISOSWO Board Meeting
Wed  |  September 10  |  1:00 pm
Webinar on Construction and Demolition Waste Reduction
Mon  |  October 6  |  8:00 am
Iowa Recycling and Solid Waste Management Conference

Grant H. Flint Scholarship

Congratulations to the 2014 ISOSWO Scholarship Award winners Molly Luzbetak, Audrey McDonald and Zachary Dicks. Additionally, congratulations to Molly Luzbetak, whom was also selected by SWANA as a recipient of the 2014 Grant H. Flint International Scholarship Award. The recipients earned the scholarships through their exemplary academic achievements, community involvement, and extracurricular activities. Thank you to all the applicants and please look for the request for 2015 scholarship applications here next year!



2014 Grant H. Flint International Scholarship Award Applications Available

The 2014 Grant H. Flint International Scholarship Award Applications are now available here. Eligible candidates for the International SWANA Scholarship Award must be sons, daughters, grandsons or granddaughters of a Member (sponsor) in good standing at the time of recommendation, selection and award. The three awards categories are as follows:

  • a. Graduating high school seniors or graduate equivalent certified candidates who have been accepted for enrollment in a junior college, a four-year college, or a university (any program).
  • b. Currently enrolled full-time college or university students who are entering their junior or senior undergraduate year and pursuing a degree in environmental science, engineering, or other suitable major related to the field of solid waste management.
  • c. Full-time students who are entering or are in graduate school pursuing a degree in environmental science, engineering or other suitable major related to the field of solid waste management.

A total of $20,000 will be awarded in 2014 in the Categories I and II; number and amounts of each award to be determined by the Scholarship Committee:

  • Category I - Graduating (graduate equivalent) High School Senior
  • Category II - College or University Upper Level Undergraduate Award

Also, one award in the amount of $5,000 will be awarded in The Robert P. Stearns/SCS Engineers Award category.

ISOSWO will also be offering a local scholarship again in 2014. The application used will be the same as the SWANA scholarship and will follow the same application criteria. In 2013, two scholarships were provided: one in Category I for $1,000 and one in Category II for $1,000. Amounts for 2014 are yet to be determined. Scholarship applications are due to the ISOSWO Scholarship Committee Chair, Dan Bacehowki, by April 22, 2014. Please pay strict attention to the application guidelines in the SWANA application as these will be followed. For additional information see the SWANA Scholarship website or contact Dan Bacehowski (515) 251-2572.

Dan Bacehowski
Foth Infrastructure & Environment, LLC
8191 Birchwood Court, Suite L
Johnston, IA 50131
Direct: (515) 251-2572
E-mail: Dan.Bacehowski@foth.com

2014 Grant H. Flint Scholarship Application (PDF)